New Book! (Not mine unfortunately)

I think the best part about Christmas shopping is being able to fill up my Amazon basket with guilt-free items so I can get free shipping on the book I put in there ages ago.

A total step outside my usual genres, I’ve bought His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet. Like some kind of reading connoisseur (which I’m really not) I bought it because it was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize (2016) and sounded like it was written by someone who knew what he was doing.

It is a true crime / historical fiction from what I can gather. It came today so I’ve really only read the Preface – which reminded me of the books I had to read at university, there’s footnotes and everything – and part of the statements from the local people of Culduie. According to the Preface, the majority of the book is the actual written account of Roderick Macrae, the murderer in question, though its authenticity is doubted. That’s not a spoiler by the way, from the off there is no question that he did it.

So my procrastination strategy for December is Christmas shopping, Christmas wrapping and reading about horrible happenings from the 19th Century.

Happy writing x

Leave a Reply

